Assign roles and access levels for users

Follow

Who can do this?

Practitioners and Administrators - Full Access

Halaxy allows you to assign roles and access levels to and administrators in your practice to control who can see and update information and access levels; it’s a key element for you to maintain confidentiality and security in your practice.

When you add a new user to your practice group, you also assign them a role and their access level within the group. This sets what information they can view or functions they can use. Each access level can be further to make sure your practice information is safe and assigned to the appropriate members of your practice.

Quick overview

Assign a role

A user role can either be a practitioner or an administrator. Role types are set when you create a new user.

See below for a quick description for each role.

Practitioner

Administrator

  • A healthcare professional who sees patients

  • Usually needs access to patient info, calendar, clinical records

  • May or may not need access to fees, invoices, financial reports, depending on their role within their practice

  • A healthcare practice manager, receptionist, assistant, bookkeeper, accountant

  • Usually needs access to calendar, invoices, financial reports

  • May or may not need access to patient info and clinical records, depending on their role within the practice

Warning

You cannot change a user's role type after it is set. Should you need to change a user's role, please email Halaxy to send a request.

Assign an access level

Each user role has different access levels, which then set specific permissions on what information they can view and edit in your Halaxy system. You can review the different access levels for each role in the tables below.

Practitioner

Feature

Personal Access

Own records and others' contact

Clinical Access

Full Access

View/edit:

- Own patient records, calendar and appointments

- Other patient records

⚠️

- Other calendar and appointments

⚠️

- Other invoices

⚠️

- Other clinical notes

⚠️

⚠️

Add and edit users

⚠️ - requires permission

Administrator

Feature

Contact Access

Clinical Access

Full Access

View all patients' contact details

View all patients' invoices

Create, edit and delete appointments

Create invoices

View, edit and manage clinical notes for all patients

Add and edit users

access level settings

Every access level can be further to grant or remove users' access to specific information. To active or deactivate a setting, simply check or uncheck the checkbox of your desired setting.

See the tables below to see descriptions of each setting.

Practitioner

Setting

Description

Applicable for

Calendar

Tick to grant access to view and edit the calendar and appointments

Personal Access - view and edit own only.

All other access levels can view and edit for all users.

Personal Finance Access

Tick to restrict Invoices, Expenses and Finance/Practice Reports access to the practitioner's own invoices/expenses only.

Has no effect if the user does not have access to Invoices or Finance/Practice Reports.

Own records and others' contact and Clinical Access.

Invoices

Tick to grant access to Invoices.

Personal Access - view own only.

All other access levels can view and edit for all users – unless the Personal Finance Access setting is enabled.

Fee Details

Tick to grant access to view appointment fee details.

If unticked, the user cannot:

  • View appointment fees in the calendar

  • Add, edit and delete appointment fees

  • Cancel or delete appointments

All access levels.

Referral Funding

Tick to grant access to view funding information for Referrals.

All access levels.

Finance/Practice Reports

Tick to grant access to finance reports and expenses. Also grants access to view and edit fees, funders and packages.

All access levels.

Reminders

Tick to grant access to modify their Reminder settings.

All access levels.

Integrations

Tick to grant access to Integrations and Add-on settings to cancel subscriptions or purchase add-ons.

All access levels.

Payment Setting

Tick to grant access to the Settings > Payments page to edit payment settings for individual practitioners only.

All access levels but will not affect Full Access users.

Restricted Admin

Tick to restrict access to the Settings > General page to read-only. Users can view the page but cannot make changes.

All access levels.

Communication Templates

Tick to grant access to edit communication templates from the Settings > General page.

All access levels.

Clinical Setting

Tick to grant access to create new or edit existing clinical templates and clinical dashboards.

All access levels.

Own clinical templates only

Tick to restrict access to edit only their own clinical templates.

All access levels - if Clinical Setting is ticked.

Clinic Restriction

Tick to restrict access to only the locations they have been added to and are active in. The user will not be able to see patients, invoices, or reports for locations they have not been added to.

All access levels.

Read Only Access

Tick to restrict the user to read-only access. User can view modules but cannot make any changes and cannot view Message History.

This overrides all other access settings.

All access levels, except Full Access.

Recommended for users who leave your practice but may require access to their patients' information.

Note

these settings overrides the default setting in a user's access level.

Administrator

Setting

Description

Applicable for

Calendar

Tick to grant access to view and edit the calendar and appointments.

All access levels can view and edit for all users.

Invoices

Tick to grant access to Invoices.

All access levels can view and edit for all users.

Fee Details

Tick to grant access to view appointment fee details.

If unticked, the user cannot:

  • View appointment fees in the calendar

  • Add, edit and delete appointment fees

  • Cancel or delete appointments

All access levels.

Referral Funding

Tick to grant access to view funding information for Referrals.

All access levels.

Finance/Practice Records

Tick to grant access to finance reports and expenses. Also grants access to view and edit fees, funders and packages.

All access levels.

Reminders

Tick to grant access to modify their Reminder settings. in Settings > Reminders.

All access levels can view and modify settings for all users and for the practice group's default settings.

Integrations

Tick to grant access to Integrations and Add-on settings to cancel subscriptions or purchase add-ons.

All access levels.

Payment Setting

Tick to grant access to the Settings > Payments page to edit payment settings for individual practitioners only.

All access levels but will not affect Full Access users.

Restricted Admin

Tick to restrict access to the Settings > General page to read-only. Users can view the page but cannot make changes.

All access levels.

Communication Templates

Tick to grant access to edit communication templates from the Settings > General page.

All access levels.

Clinical Setting

Tick to grant access to create new or edit existing clinical templates and clinical dashboards.

All access levels.

Own clinical templates only

Tick to restrict access to edit only their own clinical templates.

All access levels - only if Clinical Setting is ticked.

Hide access to patient names

Tick to anonymise patient names for the user. Names will be replaced with IDs, such as "HX 123456". Users with this option ticked will not be able to view Message History.

All access levels.

Clinic Restriction

Tick to restrict access to only the locations they have been added to and are active in. The user will not be able to see patients, invoices, or reports for locations they have not been added to.

All access levels.

Read Only Access

Tick to restrict the user to read-only access. User can view modules but cannot make any changes and cannot view Message History.

This overrides all other access settings.

All access levels, except Full Access.

Note

these settings overrides the default setting in a user's access level.

Change an existing user's access level and settings

  1. On the left menu, select Settings, then Users.

  2. Look for the user you want to edit, then under the Actions column, click the Edit button.

  3. In the Access dropdown menu, select the access level.

  4. Click the settings checkboxes as needed.

  5. Click Save.

0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.