Managing Users and Practice Groups

Follow

Halaxy is designed for sole practices, group practices and large multi-disciplinary clinics alike. Practice owners can add new users to their practice group at any time, including practitioners of any profession and administrative staff. You can determine different users' access levels to patient profiles, calendars, invoices and financial reports within your practice group.

Practice groups

Users within a practice group can share practice locations, calendars, invoices, credit settings, reminder settings, patient records and more. You can customise the level of access for each user in your group.

Practitioners can be members of multiple practice groups using the one email login address; you do not need a separate account for each group. Users are able to switch between practice groups with the drop-down menu in the top-right of Halaxy:

Practice_Groups.png

For data privacy and security, data between each practice group is kept separate and cannot be shared between groups, even if a user is a member of multiple groups.

Adding new users to your practice group

To add a new user to your practice group:

  1. Click Settings > Users to go to the Users page.

  2. On the Users page, click Add User.

    mceclip0.png
  3. The New User pop-up appears:

    mceclip3.png
  4. Select to add the user as a practitioner or an administrator. These have different access settings, explained below.

  5. Select the user's profession. This will affect the templates they have access to and may affect registration with other bodies. If their profession is not listed, choose Other. The Profession drop-down menu is not available when you are adding administrative staff.

  6. If applicable, add the user's registration number. This is optional and can be completed later.

  7. Enter the user's email address and password. New users will use these credentials to log in to Halaxy and can change their password later. If the user already uses Halaxy, you do not need to enter their password (existing users will instead be invited to join your practice group when they next log into Halaxy. They can accept or reject this invitation on their Users page).

  8. Select the user's access level and additional access options.

  9. Click the Locations field (which displays "Select Some Options" if no locations are selected) to add the practice locations you wish to add the user to.

  10. Click Save.

RESULT: If the user does not use Halaxy, they are now added to your practice group and a welcome and instruction email is sent to their email address. The new user also receives our regular newsletters as well as emails to assist them to begin using Halaxy. If the user is an existing Halaxy user, they receive an invitation to join your practice group. They can accept or reject this invitation on their Users page.

Updating user information, passwords and access levels

On the User's page, you can change a variety of information for users in your practice group as follows:

  • Password: Click the padlock icon to the right of the user's name and set their new password

  • Access level: Click the pencil icon to the right of the user's name and set new access levels

  • Location/Minor ID: Click the pencil icon to the right of the user's name and select a new Location/Minor ID from the drop-down menu

  • Log-in username: Click the pencil icon to the right of the user's name and set a new email address. This is the username the user needs to log in. Note that this does not change the contact email address which appears on emails they send (the contact email address can be changed on the practitioner's Personal page).

  • Two-factor authentication (2FA): Two-factor authentication adds an additional security measure whereby you must log in using a code sent to your phone or Google Autheticator in addition to your password. You can enable, validate or disable two-factor authentification by clicking the cogwheel icon to the right of the user's name.

You cannot change a user's role type (whether they are a practitioner or administrator). If you need to make this change, please email community@halaxy.com.

Switching between practice groups if you are a member of multiple practices

You can use Halaxy in multiple practices using the one email address. Each practice group in Halaxy is considered a separate entity, and no data whatsoever is shared between groups.

You can switch between each of your practice groups from any screen in Halaxy by clicking the practice group toggle in the top-right of the screen and selecting the practice:

Group_Select.png

Your different practices are also shown on your Users page, along with your access level in each group.

Setting a default practice group when you log in

You can set a practice group to be the default active practice group when you log in to Halaxy by following the steps below:

  1. Click Settings > Users.

  2. Click the Edit (pencil) icon next to your user name in any one of your groups.

  3. In the Default Group drop-down menu, select which group you want to be the default group when you log in.

    Users_DefaultGroup.png

RESULT: Whenever you log in to Halaxy, the group you selected will be the active group by default.

0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.