Guide to clinical note versions

Follow

Who can do this?

  • All users and access levels

  • Auto Clinical Note Versioning requires Halaxy credits

In Halaxy, you can save different versions of your clinical notes every time you make changes. Each note version records its author, and the date and time it was saved. Versioning helps you to keep track of edits, prevent the loss of data you may want to keep, and restore a clinical note to a previously saved version yourself, if you ever need to do so.

Automatically save versions of clinical notes

Halaxy offers Auto Clinical Note Versioning, which fully automates note versioning for you – basically creating a new version whenever a clinical note is edited, without you needing to do anything.

Auto Clinical Note Versioning is an add-on feature and requires a monthly credit subscription. Subscription is 100 credits per month for practice groups with under 5 active users, and 200 credits per month for practice groups with 5 or more active users

To enable Auto Clinical Note Versioning, follow the steps below.

  1. Click Settings > Add-ons.

  2. Under the Group Add-ons section, click Add a Subscription.

    Clinical-Note-Version-02.png
  3. In the Add-ons pop-up, click Purchase Auto Clinical Note Versioning.

    Clinical-Note-Version-03.png
  4. In the next pop-up, click Purchase.

    Clinical-Note-Version-04.png
  5. Your practice group is now subscribed to Auto Clinical Note Versioning. Whenever a clinical note is edited, a new version is automatically created at the end of that day.

    Clinical-Note-Version-05.png
  6. To view your saved versions, in your clinical note, simply click on the blue hyperlinked date and select the version you want to view.

    Clinical-Note-Version-01.png

Manually save versions of clinical notes

You can manually save versions of your clinical notes as needed to back up your records. To do this, follow the steps below.

  1. Open the clinical note.

  2. Next to the Save button, click the down arrow and select Save a Version. (Note: Save a Version will only appear once the note has content.)

    Clinical-Note-Version-06.png
  3. In the Save a Version pop-up, enter a title (required) and comment (optional) for your note version.

    Clinical-Note-Version-07.png
  4. Click Save.

To view your saved versions, simply click on the blue hyperlinked date and select the version you want to view.

This feature is included free of charge as a part of Halaxy's free core software.

Restore a saved version of a clinical note

If you want to undo any changes or recover older content in a clinical note, you can restore the note to a previously saved version. To do this, follow the steps below.

  1. Open the clinical note.

  2. Click the blue date and time to open the note’s version list, then select the version you want to load. (Note: If the date and time are not clickable, that means there are no saved versions for this clinical note.)

    Clinical-Note-Version-08.png
  3. The selected note version previews in a pop-up. To restore the note to this version, click Restore.

    Clinical-Note-Version-09.png
  4. In the confirmation pop-up, click Yes - Restore.

    Clinical-Note-Version-10.png
  5. The clinical note is now restored to your selected version.

Edit clinical note version details

You cannot overwrite a clinical note version, but you can edit its title and comment. To do this, follow the steps below.

  1. Open the clinical note.

  2. Click the blue date and time to open the note’s version list, then select the version you want to load. (Note: If the date and time are not clickable, that means there are no saved versions for this clinical note.)

    Clinical-Note-Version-08.png
  3. The selected note version previews in a pop-up. Click the Icon-Edit.svg Edit icon.

    Clinical-Note-Version-11.png
  4. In the Update Version Details pop-up, change the details as needed.

    Clinical-Note-Version-12.png
  5. Click Save.

Delete a clinical note version

  1. Open the clinical note.

  2. Click the blue date and time to open the note’s version list, then select the version you want to load. (Note: If the date and time are not clickable, that means there are no saved versions for this clinical note.)

    Clinical-Note-Version-08.png
  3. The selected clinical note version previews in a pop-up. Click Delete Version.

    Clinical-Note-Version-13.png

Your clinical note version is now deleted.

Caution

Deleting a clinical note version is permanent and cannot be undone.

0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.