User Access Levels

Follow

When you add a new user to your practice group, you must assign their level of access within the group by selecting the access level from the Access drop-down menu. Users with Full Access can also edit a user's access level at any time by clicking Setting > Users and then clicking the Edit (pencil) icon to the right of a user's name.

Users_Page.png

You can also further grant or restrict access to specific modules by ticking the checkboxes.

Users_AccessModal.png

Image: Editing a user's access level in Halaxy

Practitioner access levels

There are four levels of access for practitioners:

Practitioner access levels

Level

Description

Personal Access

The practitioner can edit their own records only and cannot view other users' records.

Recommended for practitioners within single-profession group practices where patients generally see only the same practitioner, and if a patient's usual practitioner were sick, the appointment would not be made or would be cancelled (e.g. mental health professions).

Own records and others' contact

The practitioner can edit other practitioners' patient profiles, appointments and invoices, but they cannot view other practitioners' clinical notes.

Recommended for practices where practitioners also take on some administrative roles, such as making appointments and creating invoices, but you still want to restrict access to clinical information.

Clinical Access

The practitioner can edit other practitioners' patient profiles, appointments, invoices AND clinical notes. The practitioner can edit group and clinic-wide settings.

Recommended for practices where patients see different practitioners within the practice and you need to share clinical information, even though patients may have a preferred practitioner (e.g. physiotherapy or GP/physician practices).

Full Access

As per Clinical Access, but the practitioner can also add new users and edit other users' access levels.

Recommended for practice owners.

Administrative staff access levels

There are three levels of access for administrative staff:

Administrative staff access levels

Level

Description

Contact Access

The staff member can see all practitioners' patients' contact and invoice details. They can make, change and delete appointments, as well as create invoices. They cannot access patient clinical notes or make changes to group or clinic-wide settings.

Clinical Access

As above, but the staff member can also access, edit and manage clinical notes for all practitioners' patients and can make changes to group and clinic-wide settings.

Recommended for administrative staff who also type case notes and clinical records into patients' records on behalf of practitioners.

Full Access

As per clinical access, but the staff member can also add new users to the group and edit their access levels.

Further limiting and removing access to specific functions

As well as the above access levels for practitioners and administrative staff, you can further limit access by removing a specific user's access to specific modules, such the calendar or finance reports.

mceclip1.png

Additional user access checkboxes

Level

Description

Calendar

Tick to grant the user access to the calendar. Practitioners with Personal Access can view only their own calendars. Practitioners with any other level of access, as well as Administrators of any access level, can view all practitioner's calendars and create appointments for other practitioners.

Invoices

Tick to grant the user access to invoices. Practitioners with Personal Access can view only their own invoices. Practitioners with any other level of access, as well as Administrators of any access level, can view and edit all practitioner's invoices.

Finance/Practice Reports

Tick to grant the user access to finance reports and expenses.

Personal Finance Access

Tick to restrict Invoices and Finance/Practice Reports access to the practitioner's own invoices/expenses only.

Has no effect if the user does not have access to Invoices or Finance/Practice Reports. Only applicable to users with Clinical Access or "Own records and others' contact" Access.

Reminders

Tick to grant the user access to the Settings > Reminders page. This allows practitioners with Personal Access, Clinical Access or "Own records and others' contact" Access to configure their own reminder settings. Full Access users can also configure the default reminder settings for the group.

Administrators with Reminders access can configure reminder settings for all practitioners as well as the default reminder settings for the group.

If this option is unticked, the user can still use reminders, but they cannot modify their reminder settings.

Integration

Tick to grant the user access the Settings > Integrations and Settings > Add-ons page. This allows users to purchase Add-ons like two-way calendar syncing and Custom Names or Dedicated Numbers for SMS reminders. Full Access users can also subscribe for a fax number.

If this option is unticked, the user can still use any add-ons that were purchased before the option was disabled or add-ons that were purchased by another user on their behalf, but they cannot purchase new add-ons or cancel any existing subscriptions.

Payment Setting

Tick to grant the user access to the Settings > Payments page. Allows the user to edit payment settings for individual practitioners only. Has no effect on Full Access users.

Restricted Admin

Tick to restrict the user's access to the Settings > General page to read only (they can see the page but cannot make changes).

Clinical Setting

Tick to grant the user access to create or edit clinical templates.

If this option is unticked, the user can still use clinical templates but cannot modify them.

Own Clinical Templates Only

Tick to restrict the user so that they cannot use group clinical templates (they can only use their own clinical templates). Only available if the user can access clinical templates.

Hide Access To Patient Names

Tick to anonymise patient names for the user (names will be replaced with IDs, such as "HX 123456"). Users with this option ticked will not be able to view Message History.

Can only be set for Administrators, not Practitioners.

Clinic Restriction

Tick to restrict the user to only locations they have been added to. The user will not be able to see patients, invoices or reports for locations they have not been added to.

Read Only Access

Tick to restrict the user to read-only access. The user will be able to view modules they have access to but will not be able to make any changes despite all other access settings. Users with this option ticked will not be able to view Message History. Recommended for users who leave your practice but who may requires access to their patients' information.

Options that grant access to a particular module grant the user access in accordance with their overall access level. For example, a user with Personal Access and the Finance/Practice Reports option ticked will be able to see finance reports relating to their own patients only.

Options that restrict access to a particular module restrict the user despite their overall access level. For example, a user with Full access but who has the Personal Finance Access option ticked will only be able to access finance reports for their own patients, invoices and expenses.

Unticking access to a particular module removes the user's access to that module despite their overall access level. For example, a user with Full Access with the Invoices option unticked will not be able to view invoices (but will still be able to view finance reports).

0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.