Set up payment limits

Your Payment Limit and Authorised Limit provide additional protection to your electronic payments processed via Halaxy.

Overview

Payment Limit

Authorised Limit

Definition

The maximum amount that you can process in a single transaction - manually or automatically.

The minimum amount that cardholders are required to verify transactions via SMS.

Purpose

Prevents unusual transaction amounts from being wrongly processed in your practice

Protects patients from unauthorised transactions and prevents card payment disputes in the future

Details

  • Applies to all users in your practice group

  • Automatically set based on your transaction history

  • You may be able to increase your own payment limit (depending on the monthly volume of transactions you process)

  • If you cannot increase your limit yourself, you can request Halaxy to increase your payment limit

  • Applies to all users in your practice group

  • You can set your own Authorised Limit

  • Must be equal or lesser than the Payment Limit

Example

If the Payment Limit is $500, nobody in your practice group is allowed to process transactions above $500.

If the Authorised Limit is $200, everyone in your practice group can process payments below $200 instantly. If the payment is higher than $200, the cardholder receives an SMS verification message, where they can accept or reject the charge.

Manage your Payment and Authorised Limits

  1. Click Settings > Payments.

  2. Under the Payment Limits section, click the Icon-Edit.svg edit icon.

    Payment-Limits-02.png
  3. In the pop-up, enter your Payment Limit and/or Authorised Limit. (Note: Your Authorised Limit cannot be higher than your Payment Limit.)

    Payment-Limits-03.png
  4. (Optional) If you are unable to increase your Payment Limit, click request an increase here.

    Payment-Limits-04.png
  5. Click Save.

Your payment limits are saved and now apply to all users in your practice group.

Check status of payment authorisation

If you have an Authorised Limit, you can view the status of authorisation after you process payment.

To do this, follow the steps below.

  1. Open the invoice.

  2. Under the Payments section, click the payment status.

    In the Payments section of an invoice, the Status of a payment is highlighted
  3. This opens the payment history for this invoice, including the status of payment authorisation.

    A page titled Payment History, with details about the status of the SMS confirmation message

Note

If the patient does not authorise the payment within 72 hours, the payment is rejected and will need to be processed again.

Important

As standard protocol with payments processors, the payment is deducted from the patient's account, but if no authorisation is provided, the funds are returned.

Enable SMS payment authorisation for patients

By default, you can automatically process Auto Payments transactions within your authorised payment limit. If you have patients who want to approve every payment processed using their card, you can enable SMS payment authorisation for their Auto Payments preferences.

  1. Go to the patient profile and click the Funding tab.

  2. Under the Payment and Rebate Processing section, click the Icon-Edit.svg edit icon under Payments.

  3. Tick the checkbox Always require SMS payment authorisation for this patient.

    Patient-Payment-04.png
  4. Click Save.

Whenever you process a payment for this patient, SMS authorisation is required by default no matter the amount.

Updated

Was this article helpful?